A visit to the Library and the Cemetery Day 22, July 10, 2017 –
Yep. That about describes our day today. Russ and I were so intent on making a
connection on the wireless that we went into Deadwood and hid out at the public
library for a couple of hours. We had
bills to pay, blogs & pictures to upload.
The library had free wifi BUT, I gotta say it was really sloooooow. I mean beggars can’t be choosers, right? But the fact is that my cell data service
with 2 bars was faster from there than their wifi. Nevertheless, we struggled on and got a
couple of blogs uploaded and a couple of bills paid.
After our library sojourn, we headed off for Kevin Costner’s
Deadwood Tour. $10 for seniors and what
a show our bus driver put on. First of
all we loaded onto an ancient school bus that seemed ridiculously unsafe. No windows, no seatbelts and just generally
worn down. The driver was quite an actor
and regaled us with tales of Wild Bill Hickock and Calamity Jane, all while
maneuvering his bus up a really steep hill and into the cemetery where we were
able to disembark and view the graves of the two aforementioned western
characters. It was a fun trip and well
worth the fare. By the way, for those of
you who didn’t know (like me) Wild Bill was killed here in Deadwood while he
was playing a poker game at 4 in the afternoon.
He was shot in the back of the head and the hand he was holding at the
time was two aces and two eights.
Henceforth this hand is call “the dead man’s hand.” Hummmm, useful information?
On back to our campground to get the puppy exercised. Dinner was leftovers. Hotdogs with beans, mac and cheese and cole
slaw. Mmmmm good!! BTW, it is now 8:45 pm and or neighbors have
yet to return to their trailer where they left their little fuzzy doggie about
12 hours ago. Yes, the AC has been on
constantly and we are hoping that the dog has enough room to do his/her
business in there.
As a follow up, the puppy is fine -- barking away the next morning but the total amount of time he/she spent in that trailer, by itself, with the a/c on was 15 hours. Just Sayin.
Here are some pics:
As a follow up, the puppy is fine -- barking away the next morning but the total amount of time he/she spent in that trailer, by itself, with the a/c on was 15 hours. Just Sayin.
Here are some pics:
Laced up and Did it!
Not in California Anymore
Potato Creek Johnny and Russ at the Mt. Moriah Cemetery
The Man Himself -- Wild Bill Hickock - Buried Here




Comments
Post a Comment